Browser caching, though meant for speed up your browsing experience, can result in blocking the access to the website in many ways. Google Chrome will show you different errors like err_connection_closed or err_connection_reset mostly caused by the corrupted history files. Other browser also show similar errors in such cases. Like restarting solves most of the computer problems, deleting history solves most Chrome browser related issues.
What is Browsing History?
Speed is an important factor when using Internet. Especially, long loading webpages will consume higher mobile data which in turn lead to higher cost for the user. So, Chrome browser will start caching the source files whenever you open a webpage. These source files include fonts, scripts, stylesheets, images and other temporary files.
When a website is opened in a browser, the source web server sends the content to browser with the cache expiry duration for each file type. Let’s say, the web server sends a response with 10 days expiry for all PNG image files. The browser will cache all PNG image files for next 10 days till the time of cache expiry. When you access the site within 10 days, all PNG images will be loaded from the browser’s cache instead of using from server.

What are the Files Cached by a Browser?
Below are some of the information Chrome browser will store in a cache or temporary storage. Remember, this will change based on your browser settings.
- Image files like PNG, JPEG and GIF.
- CSS and JavaScript files.
- Cookies and site data.
- History of browsing, that is remembering all the accessed webpages.
- Remembering all the downloaded files.
- Filled form data and password.
When some of the cached data is corrupted or outdated, it will prevent accessing the website. Thus deleting the browsing history and cached files will help to reload fresh content from the server. Though this will lead long page loading time, it will resolve your browsing problems.
Delete Browsing History in Google Chrome
There are multiple ways to delete the browsing data in Chrome. You can follow one of the below methods convenient for you.
1. Using Keyboard Shortcut
This is the quickest option though you need to press multiple keys together. Press “Command + Shift + Delete” keys on Mac and “Control + Shift + Delete” keys on Windows. This will open the clear browser data dialog box as shown in the below picture.
- Go to “Advanced” tab.
- Select the “Time range” as “All time” from the dropdown.
- Check “Browsing history”, “Download history”, “Cookies and other site data” and “Cached images and files” options. You can view the total number of times or size below each item.
- Click “Delete data” button.

You can also select “Autofill form data”, “Site settings” and “Hosted app data” options to delete those items as well.
Click the three vertical dots icon on top right corner and select “Delete Browsing Data…” menu. This will open the same pop-up and allow you to select and delete items.

3. Using Chrome Privacy Settings
- Click the three dots icon and select “Settings” menu.
- Go to “Privacy and security” section.
- Click “Delete browsing data” option.
- Select the items, time range and delete them.

4. Using Chrome Command URL
If you have trouble in using the keyboard shortcut, then this will be the best alternate option. Paste this URL “chrome://settings/clearBrowserData” and press enter key. This will directly open the “Delete browsing data” pop-up, select your items and delete them.
5. Using Chrome History
Chrome also allows to delete browsing data from the “History” section.
- Click the three dots icon and select “History > History” option. Alternatively, go to “chrome://history/” command URL.
- Click “Delete browsing data” option from the left sidebar.

Mac apps offer an additional top menu bar. You can go to “Chrome” menu and select “Delete Browsing Data…” option.

Remember deleting browser data will cause the following impacts:
- You will be logged out of any sessions, so, remember to logout of all sites properly before clearing browser history.
- The webpages will load slow for the next time when you open. The history and cache will again start accumulating which can’t be disabled on Chrome. Because, that’s how Chrome can speedup the Internet connection.
- Ensure you are not mistakenly checking the “Password and other sign-in data” option in the pop-up. This will remove all the saved passwords and you may not be able to login to those sites unless you have written down the passwords.
- The deletion is a permanent removal of files from your browser and this action can’t be reversed.
On mobiles, you can delete the browsing data from Chrome app’s settings.





