Facebook Page is one of the easy ways to promote your website to reach vast range of audience. However, sometimes you might create many pages and found some pages do not receive any follow or likes. If you are really not able to make use of your Facebook Page, then it is a good option to delete the page from your account. In this article, let us explain how to unpublish or delete Facebook Page from your account.
Unpublish or Delete Facebook Page
Facebook offers multiple ways to control the visibility of your pages.
- Simply delete your page and remove it from your account.
- Alternatively, unpublish the page from public view and still keep the page active.
- Use the settings to control who can view and post on your page.
Let us explain each option in detail in the following sections.
1. Delete Facebook Page
Follow the below instructions to completely delete your Facebook Page.
- Login to your Facebook account and click on the “Pages” icon on the top bar. This will show you a list of all pages available under your account. Make sure, you are the administrator of the page that you want to delete. You can’t delete the pages you are assigned as a manager.
- Scroll down to the bottom and select your page’s “Settings” section from the right sidebar.
- You will see a list of settings that you can apply to restrict your page’s visibility. There will be a “Remove Page” option available as a last option in the list.
- Click on “Delete your Page” against “Remove Page” option.
- On the next pop-up, click on the link showing “Permanently delete Page name”.
- You will see a warning message showing that you will not get back the page once deleted permanently. Confirm your action by clicking “Delete” button.
If you have deleted a currently active page, Facebook will give you a grace period of 14 days. You will receive a reminder after 14 days to confirm the permanent deletion. In case if you have changed your decision, it is possible to cancel the deletion from the same settings section of your Facebook Page.
However, if you delete a page which was already unpublished, you will not get any grace period and your page will be deleted immediately.
Note: You can download the complete content of your page before deletion, by clicking on the “Download Page” option.
2. Unpublish Facebook Page
Unpublishing a page will disable your page from public view. After unpublishing, people can’t search and view the content of your page. However, the page will continue to be available in your account and you can reconnect anytime when you needed it back. Therefore, this is an option when you have reasons like the website or brand is temporarily not available.
- When you are in Facebook Page’s setting, check the first option in the list.
- Select “Page unpublished” option against “Page Visibility” option.
- You will see a pop-up asking you to provide a reason for unpublishing your page. Select the reason and click on “Next” button.
- On the next pop-up, you can provide a reason or simply click “Unpublish” button.
- You will get a confirmation message that your page is now unpublished. Click the “Close” button to close the pop-up.
Remember, your page will still be available under your Facebook account and you can publish it again from the settings section of your Page.
3. Use Other Settings
Sometimes what you need is to simply control who can view and post on your page instead of unpublishing or deleting it. Facebook offers multiple options on the “Settings” page to control the visibility of your page.
- Click on the “Visitor Posts” and select disable or review option to restrict posting from others on your page.
- Similarly, you can restrict viewers from certain countries by clicking “Country Restrictions” option and apply “Age Restrictions” also.