Home » Tech Tips » iPhone » How to Share an iCloud Folder and Collaborate with Multiple People?

How to Share an iCloud Folder and Collaborate with Multiple People?

Most Apple users use iCloud as a cloud storage to sync files across their devices. However, iCloud also offers a sharing feature which you can use to collaborate with multiple people. You can share a folder with required people and setup necessary permissions allowing them to view or edit the content. You can do this from any Apple device such as iPhone, iPad or Mac.

Share an iCloud Folder from iPhone or iPad

  • Search and open File app in your iPhone or iPad.
  • Find to the folder which you want to share and long press on it.
  • Select “Share” menu to see the available options.
Share Folder in iPhone
Share Folder in iPhone
  • If you see “Send Copy” option selected by default, tap on it and change it to “Collaborate”.
Select Collaborate Folder
Select Collaborate Folder
  • Now, you will see “Only invited people can edit” text showing below the “Collaborate” option and tap on it.
Edit Access and Sharing Permissions
Edit Access and Sharing Permissions
  • Select the option whether anyone can access the folder or only the invited people can access under “Who can access” heading. Also, select the correct permissions whether people can change the content or only view. Finally, enable “Allow others to invite” option so that people can share the folder with others and tap on “Done” link.
Setup Access Permissions and Invite Options
Setup Access Permissions and Invite Options
  • Select the people or app to send the invitation link for shared folder access. For example, we will select “Messages” app and send the invite.
Send Folder Invite in Messages App
Send Folder Invite in Messages App
  • The recipients after accepting the invite can access the folder and edit the content as per the permissions setup by you.

Note: Use “Send Copy” option to transfer the complete folder to recipients.

Share an iCloud Folder from Mac

Mac iCloud folder sharing works similar to iPhone or iPad except that you do not have Files app on Mac.

  • Open Finder and go to “iCloud Drive” folder from the sidebar. If you do not see that option, go to “Finder > Settings…” menu to open the app settings. Navigate to “Sidebar” tab and check “iCloud Drive” under “iCloud” heading. Learn more on how to customize Finder sidebar in Mac.
  • Navigate to the folder you want to share and click on the “Share” icon.
Share Folder Option in Mac
Share Folder Option in Mac
  • Click the “Send Copy” dropdown and select “Collaborate” option.
Select Collaborate Folder Option
Select Collaborate Folder Option
  • Click “Only invited people can edit” option and change the who can access and permissions settings.
Change Folder Permissions and Access Mac
Change Folder Permissions and Access Mac
  • Select an option for sharing from the list. For example, we will select “Invite with Link” option.
  • Add recipients from your contact list and click the “Copy Link” button. All recipients will get an invite with a link and they will be able to collaborate and work with the folder’s content after accepting the invite.
Send Folder Access iCloud Link
Send Folder Access iCloud Link

Stop Sharing an iCloud Folder

All folders shared with you (from others) can be found under “Shared” section of Files app in iPhone / iPad. On Mac, you can go to “Shared” folder from Finder app sidebar. If you want to stop sharing the folder with others, you can do it from any of your devices.

  • The folders you have shared will show a different icon with multiple people and also show “Shared by me” label below it.
Shared Folder in Mac
Shared Folder in Mac
  • On iPhone / iPad – long press on the shared folder and select “Manage Shared Folder” option.
Shared Folder Options in iPhone
Shared Folder Options in iPhone
  • On Mac – right-click on the shared folder and select “Manage Shared Folder” option.
Manage Shared Folder in Mac
Manage Shared Folder in Mac
  • On the pop-up, tap or click “Stop Sharing” button.
Stop Folder Sharing on Mac
Stop Folder Sharing on Mac
  • Confirm the prompt to stop sharing the folder with all recipients. This will remove their access and delete the folder from their iCloud Drive.
Confirm Removing Access
Confirm Removing Access

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *