Comparison of Autosave Vs Revisions in WordPress
Related: Disable autosave in Gutenberg editor.
|Applicable||Post and Pages||Post and Pages|
|Browser Storage||No||Yes, when the internet connection is lost while editing a post.|
|Changes Tracked||Post Title, Content, Author and Excerpt||Post Title, Content, Author and Excerpt|
|Count||Based on number of updates on your post/page||One per post/page which will be overwritten every time.
For multiple author, one autosave per author per post/page.
|Creation Method||Due to manual update, publish or save draft action by user.||Due to automatic save by WordPress.|
|Definition||Revisions is the feature in WordPress that saves the copy of your post or page content automatically whenever you hit “Save Draft”, “Publish” or “Update” button.||WordPress autosave your changes every 60 seconds whenever you create your content in post editor.|
|Overwriting||No, each revision is stored as a separate row in table.||Yes, one revision per author is overwritten with the latest version.|
|Post Name||(Parent post id)-(revision number)||(Parent post id)-(Autosave)|
|Sample Plugins for Disabling||WP-Optimize, Better Delete Revisions||WP-CMS Post Control|
|Search Engine Visibility||No||No|
|Usage||When the same post is modified by multiple authors.|
Restoring to previous revisions when you wrongly modified the content.
|To restore the content in case of:
Lost internet connection during modification.
|Visible in Editor||Under the post editor only after the content is updated / saved / published.|
Besides the content under “Publish” box showing number of revisions along with “Browse” link.
|Displayed in the post editor’s status bar.
Under the post editor only after the content is updated / saved / published.
|Warning Messages||No||Yes, warning message will be displayed if there is browser storage or the content is different from the autosaved one when opening the post / page.|