Stop Receiving New User Registration Emails in WordPress
After created a new site with WordPress the foremost annoying thing is receiving plenty of notification emails for new user registration on your site. You may be confused, from where these mails are originating especially if you are using subscription forms in your site for newsletter or user registration. You will be surprised to see that you are getting these suspicious and junk emails even after disabling all subscription plugins. You may want to stop these new user registration emails from your WordPress site since most of these emails look suspicious and not created by human users.
How Do Someone Can Register On My Site?
When you login to your WordPress site through “www.yoursite.com/wp-admin/” or “www.yoursite.com/wp-login.php” you can see a “Register” link below the login box.
Here is the place someone can register for your site and WordPress will do the following two actions for each new user registration:
- Notify administrator (that’s you) through an email.
- Send a login password to the registered user.
The issue here is that you as an administrator need not confirm new user registration and WordPress does this automatically for you.
Where to See New Users?
When you logged as an administrator to your WordPress site, you can see all new registered users under “Users >> All Users” section.
How to Stop these Annoying Emails?
Login to your WordPress site as an administrator and navigate to “Settings >> General” as shown in the below picture.
There are three important settings to be considered for new user registration.
- E-mail Address – this is your admin email where you will get all notification emails from WordPress including new user registration.
- Membership – By default the check box “Anyone can register” is selected. Disable this check box to stop someone anonymously register for your site and hence stop receiving notification emails.
When you disable this check box the “Register” link on the login screen will be removed and hence no new user can register on your site without your knowledge.
- New User Default Role – This is selected as “Subscriber” and hence you will all registered users as subscribers.
There will not be any issue till the time the new user’s default role is set as a subscriber. The person who registers can only receive subscription emails from you at the maximum. Assume you wrongly selected new user’s default role as “Administrator” then the person who register will have all access exactly like you to publish or modify content on your site.