Did you ever delete a favorite photo accidentally in iPhone and wonder how to recover? If the picture is an old one, you can easily recover it from your regular backup. You can backup iPhone photos to Mac, in your iCloud account or dump on external drive. It is also possible to store your iPhone photos to Windows PC using iTunes. However, if you have deleted a photo taken recently and not backed up anywhere, do not worry. There is a way around and here we will explain how to recover deleted photos in iPhone.
Deleting Photos in iPhone
First, we will explain how to delete the pictures before explaining the recovery method.
- Tap on “Photos” app and tap on “Library” option from the bottom.
- This will show all your photo stream in reverse chronological order (latest photos at the bottom and you can scroll up to view older pictures).
- Tap on “Select” button showing on the top.
- Now, tap on the images to select them and tap the trash icon on the bottom right corner.
- Confirm the deletion by pressing “Delete xx Photos” button.
The deleted photos will not appear in “Library” section or in the suggestions.
Recovering Deleted Photos in iPhone
Though Apple says the photos will be deleted from all devices and iCloud account, they are not. The deleted photos will be sent to a trash bin where they will be available up to 40 days’ time. Therefore, you can recover the deleted photos in iPhone before the end of grace period. This is something like restoring deleted items from Mac’s Trash or PC’s Recycle Bin. However, the only difference is that the deleted items in iPhone will be automatically removed while you need to manually cleanup in Mac or PC.
- When you are in “Photos” app, go to “Albums” section.
- Scroll down to bottom and tap on “Recently Deleted” option under “Utilities” section.
- This section will show all your recently deleted photos along with the remaining numbed of days for permanent deletion. For example, if you see 9 days on the picture, it will be permanently deleted after 9 days and you can recover it any time before.
- Tap on “Select” button and tap the pictures you want to restore.
- Tap “Recover” at the bottom left corner.
- Confirm the recovery by pressing “Recover xx Photos” button.
All the selected photos will be restored in your library that you can view under “Library” section. Remember, the photos will be restored back to its original date in the “Library”. Therefore, you need to find the recovered items by searching based on the date.
Points to Note
As you see in the above picture, Apple says the deleted pictures are kept up to 40 days. However, we noticed the pictures are available around 30 days in the recently deleted items. Therefore, you can guarantee recover them in few days of time and the items in recently deleted items will be permanently deleted after around 30 days. There will be no way to recover them.
On other hand, if you really want to delete the pictures permanently, then you should cleanup the recently deleted items after deleting the pictures from your album.
- Select one or multiple pictures from “Recently Deleted” folder.
- Tap “Delete” and confirm the action to delete them permanently and get rid of them from your iPhone.