Home » Tech Tips » How to Delete and Disable Search History in Google Account?

How to Delete and Disable Search History in Google Account?

Though Google offers different services and products, their primary income comes from advertisements. To serve personalized ads, Google tracks user activities through various ways. If you are logged into your Google account, then all browsing history is saved in your account. Google uses the stored details to tailor the ads shown in search pages and other services. Good thing is that you can delete all previously stored history and disable the tracking to protect your privacy.

Disable History in Google Account

  • Go to Google account page and login with your account. If you are already logged, then the page will take you to the dashboard.
  • Navigate “Data & privacy” section from the left sidebar.
  • Scroll down on the right pane and find “History settings” section.
Google Account History Settings
Google Account History Settings
  • Google stores your historical data under three sections – Web & App Activity, Location History and YouTube History. You can enable or disable each option as per your preference.
  • You can also click on the “My Activity” button showing below the three options to view and manage all your stored browsing history.

Managing My Activities – Searching and Deleting Previous History

Click on “My Activity” button to go to “My Google Activity” page. You will be surprised to see all your historical browsing, searching, watched YouTube pages showing as a list date wise. Remember, the activities include the latest AI search with Google Bard and Google Search Generative Experience.

Google My Activity Page
Google My Activity Page

Simply click the X icon showing against an item to remove it from your history. You can also delete all history for a day by clicking on the X icon showing against it (for example – yesterday). Confirm your action by clicking the “Delete” link in the pop-up.

Delete Single History Item from Google Account
Delete Single History Item from Google Account

If you want to delete a particular page, it is difficult to scroll through and find it from the history. What you can do is to type the URL or keyword in the search box and press enter.  

History Delete Options in Google Account
History Delete Options in Google Account

This will show the complete list of webpages from your search history. Click the three dots showing in the search box on the results page and select “Delete Results” to delete all historical items that contains the searched query. Alternatively, you can also delete an individual item or all items on a particular date.

Search and Delete All Results
Search and Delete All Results

Click on “Filter by dates & products” option to open the complete list of Google products for which history is stored. Select the products or choose date range and click “Apply” button to filter the results.

Delete History Based on Date and Product
Delete History Based on Date and Product

For example, you can filter based on YouTube or Video Search products and delete them same way as explained above. Finally, you can also delete the history based on any time or date range. For that click “Delete” button on “My Activity” page and select the time range to filter and delete the activities.

Delete Based on Custom Date
Delete Based on Custom Date

Disable History for Web & App Activities

The above action will only delete your previous history. To disable storing your data in Google account, click on “Web & App Activity” option and go to “Activity Controls” page. You have two options here:

Turn Off History and Delete Previous History

Click the “Turn off” button and select “Turn off” option. If you want to delete the history, then select “Turn off and delete activity” option.

Turn Off and Delete Google History
Turn Off and Delete Google History

Select “Turn off and delete activity” option to start the three steps process. On first step, you will see a notification and click “Next” to proceed further.

Turning Off Web and App Activities in Google Account
Turning Off Web and App Activities in Google Account

The second step will allow you to select the products. Make sure all the items are selected and click “Next” button.

Select All Apps to Delete History
Select All Apps to Delete History

The final step will show your browsed pages from history and click on “Delete” to confirm you action.

Confirm Deleting History
Confirm Deleting History

You will see a confirmation message showing “Deletion complete” and click “Got it” button to go back to “Activity Controls” page where you should see the “Web & App Activity” is showing as “Turned off” with the current date.

Web and App History Deletion Completed
Web and App History Deletion Completed

Enable Auto Deletion of History After Set Time

Instead of disabling the history, you can also turn on auto delete option. Click “Choose an auto-delete option” showing below “Auto-delete” heading. On the pop-up, select your duration from the dropdown. You only have three options – 3, 18 or 36 months and Google will automatically delete “Web & App Activity” history after the selected duration.

Auto Delete Google History
Auto Delete Google History

When you click on the “Next” button, Google will show the historical items those are older than the selected time. Click “Confirm” to delete those items from your history.

Confirm Auto Deleting Old History Items
Confirm Auto Deleting Old History Items

Finally, you will see a confirmation on auto deletion is enabled on your account. Click “Got it” button to go back to “Activity Controls” page.

Confirmation on Auto Deletion Enabled
Confirmation on Auto Deletion Enabled

Disable Location Tracking

When you are in “Activity Controls” page, scroll down to bottom and click on “See all activity controls” link.

See All Activity Controls Page
See All Activity Controls Page

You can follow similar steps like “Web & App Activity” section to turn off location tracking or setup auto-delete option.

Turn Off Location History
Turn Off Location History

Disable YouTube History

Scroll down to “YouTube History” section on “Activity Controls” page. From here, you can either turn off the setting or enable auto-deletion after set period.

Disable YouTube History
Disable YouTube History

Disable Personalized Ads

“Personalized Ads” is the last item on the “Activity Controls” page which has two sections – My ad Center and Partner ad settings.

Disable Personalized Ads in Google Account
Disable Personalized Ads in Google Account

My Ad Center

Click this option and you will be surprised how Google created a customized ad center for your account. You can completely disable personalized ads or it is also possible to delete topics, brands and recent ads from this section.

Disable Personalized Ads in Ad Center
Disable Personalized Ads in Ad Center

Simply click the “On” button and confirm your action by clicking “Turn off” option.

Turn Off Personalized Ads in My Ad Center
Turn Off Personalized Ads in My Ad Center

You will see a success message showing personalized ads are turned off in your account.

Disable Partner Ad Settings

After disabling “My Ad Center”, go to “Partner ad settings” section. Here, you can disable getting ads from partner sites and saving data from apps/sites (under related settings).

Disable Personalized Partner Ads
Disable Personalized Partner Ads

Final Words

Finally, you should see the “My Google Activity” page shows all the options are turned off with no historical activity.

All History Deleted and Disabled in Google Account
All History Deleted and Disabled in Google Account

Unfortunately, many people will not have time to go through all these settings to disable and delete history stored in Google account. When you have time, follow the above steps on your mobile or desktop and clean up your browsing history from Google.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *